prize council meeting 2022On 5 June 2022, the Prize Council, under the chairmanship of the president of King Saud University Dr. Badran Al-Omar, and under the direction of PSIPW President HRH Prince Khalid Bin Sultan Bin Abdulaziz, approved the winners for the 10th Award (2022) of the Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water (PSIPW).

The 10th Award winners were formally disclosed on 6 June under the Space and Water Agenda of the 65th Session of the United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (UN COPUOS). The official public announcement of the 10th Award winners will take place on 19 June in Granada Spain at the opening session of the 39th World Congress of the International Association for Hydro-environment Engineering and Research (IAHR).

The 10th Awards Ceremony will be held on 13 December 2022 at the United Nations Office at Vienna, VIC.

PSIPW is a leading, global scientific award focusing on cutting-edge innovation in water research. It gives recognition to scientists, researchers and inventors around the world for pioneering work that addresses the problem of water scarcity in creative and effective ways.

To this end, PSIPW offer a suite of five prizes every two years, covering the entire water research landscape.

Nominations are currently open for the 11h Award (2024). Nominations can be made online for all five prizes directly through the PSIPW website:

Winners for the Tenth Award (2022)

Leading international scientists with a diversity of backgrounds -- including materials science, chemistry, engineering, and environmental science, as well as hydrology -- won the five prizes for a wide variety of relevant, groundbreaking solutions that promise to help provide needed drinking water to the world's people.

pradeep188x193Creativity Prize: The team of Thalappil Pradeep (Indian Institute of Technology, Madras)

His team developed environmentally friendly “water positive” nanoscale materials for the affordable, sustainable and rapid removal of arsenic from drinking water.

Team members include Avula Anil Kumar, Chennu Sudhakar, Sritama Mukherjee, Anshup, and Mohan Udhaya Sankar.

dionysiou188x193Creativity Prize: The team of Dionysios Dionysiou (University of Cincinnati, USA)

His team developed advanced oxidation technologies and nanotechnologies for environmental applications, particularly in the removal and monitoring of emerging contaminants.

Team members include Wael H.M. Abdelraheem, Abdulaziz Al-Anazi, Jiong Gao, Ying Huang, and Vasileia Vogiazi.

baldocchi188x193Surface Water Prize: Dennis Baldocchi (University of California, Berkeley, USA)

He was awarded for developing effective models to understand, evaluate and predict evapotranspiration and water-use efficiency in various environments under climate change conditions. 


abriola188x193Groundwater Prize: Linda Abriola (Brown University, USA)

She was awarded for her pioneering research on toxic Dense Non-Aqueous Phase Liquids (DNAPLs’) in groundwater, ranging from the simulation of their fate to effective methods for cleaning contaminated sites. 


elimelech188x193osuji188x193Alternative Water-Resources Prize: The team of Menachem Elimelech (Yale University) and Chinedum Osuji (University of Pennsylvania)

They made significant advances in nanostructured materials for next-generation membranes and water purification technologies, with a particular focus on implementation, like manufacturing, sustainability, self-assembled materials, and biofouling.

mcmabe188x193Water Management & Protection Prize: The team of Matthew McCabe (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST), Thuwal, Saudi Arabia)

The team is awarded for employing CubeSat constellations in the sustainable management and security of linked water-food systems, culminating in the highest resolution estimates of agricultural water with global coverage at unprecedented spatial and temporal resolutions. Team members include Bruno Aragon (KAUST) and Rasmus Houborg (Planet Labs, USA).